Skip to main content
Family Information and Services Hub

Sue Burnel

Childminder

Coronavirus status: OPEN
Coronavirus status: OPEN

My name is Sue and I have been a registered childminder for over 21 years. We live in Lyndhurst and are very lucky to be able to enjoy the beautiful New Forest around us.

I care for children before school , during the day and after school. I am open during the school holidays as well. I have always had a wide range of ages coming to my setting which is great for the children being part of a big minded family. We always look after each other and I am very keen to always encourage nice and kind behaviour 

We enjoy local facilities in the village , going into the forest and playing in the back garden which is completely child-friendly !

We also have two cats who are very much part of the family and are adored by all of us !

My philosophy has always been that when a child starts with me , I will then care for the whole family , not just the minded child , and it has always then helped me to fully support , bond with and care for the child

Who to contact

Contact Name
Sue Burnel
Contact Position
Registered Childminder
Telephone
07913743741
E-mail
sue.burnel@icloud.com
Website
Sue Burnel

Where to go

Name
Sue Burnel
Address
5, The Meadows
Lyndhurst
Hampshire
Postcode
SO43 7EJ
Notes

We have a limited wheelchair access with a ramp at the front door only 

Accessibility
Wheelchair access

Costs

Costs

Table of costs
Table of costs
AmountCost Type
£6.20 per hour
Details
£6.20 per hour £2.75 per meal ( lunch / dinner ) no charge for breakfast £30 per 6 hour day + lunch in Holidays and Inset days

Availability

Referral required
No

Time / Date Details

When is it on
Open Mondays to Thursdays 07.45 -18.00
Time of day
Morning
Afternoon

Local Offer

Local Offer
Description

I welcome children with additional needs.

I currently care for a child with additional needs and have worked with : Portage , attended TAC meetings , attended SLT sessions , supported the parents in other healthcare meetings and submitted an EHCP on the child's behalf as his main carer 

Contact Name
Sue Burnel
Contact Telephone
07913743741
Contact Email
sue.burnel@icloud.com
What does your service do?

I support children in attending healthcare meetings , work with Portage , and SLT sessions in their own home and in my setting.

I produced an EHCP for the child for starting school in September 2020 as I am his main carer

I produce ILP's to support the child in his development and progress 

Who does your service provide for?

My service provides for children of all ages : typically 8 months and above ( until they no longer want to come to my setting ( usually aged 11 ! )

I welcome children of all abilities, gender , race, and creed  

How can I start using the service?

I welcome phone or email enquiries initially ,  then if I can offer childcare , I will propose a meeting at my house for parents and children to meet me in person . We discuss details and they can ask questions whilst the child plays beside us , and if the other partner cannot make the meeting, I invite them over for a second meeting so that both parents can make the decision together. 

Once session timings / days are agreed and pricing , I issue a written place confirmation. If applicable a deposit is paid to secure the place until the child starts

We arrange settling-in sessions until parents and child feel confident about starting here

Where is it located and what areas does it cover?

Situated In Lyndhurst and I cover the New Forest area 

Collection from school is in Lyndhurst only 

How are decisions made about who can use your service?

I work alone and any decisions are made by myself 

How do you communicate with service users and how are they involved in decision making?

I communicate by phone, email and in person.

I always respect that the parents know their child best , and we always work together with the child's best interests at heart. I will always do what I feel is the best course of action for the child , but remaining sensitive and supportive towards the parents and their views.

Is your service fully accessible?

There is a ramp at the front door. However there are steps leading down from the back door into the garden , so at present this would not be accessible by wheelchair.

The house is on one level so kitchen and downstairs toilet are accessible , but doorway to the toilet is standard size and the toilet is a small room.

There is a step down into the playroom 

What training are the staff supporting children and young people with SEN and Disabilities had or are having?

I have had Makaton and PECS training 

I am responsible for all aspects of : Health and Safety , Welfare and Safeguarding in my setting , so I have ensured that I have up-to-date training to cover these aspects.

I work with Portage and SLT and supply ILP's to support children with additional needs

How will I know my child is safe?

I have been a registered childminder for over 21 years and am graded outstanding by Ofsted . I continually risk assess my setting , I continually up-date and maintain my CPD  and refresh my childcare and education knowledge by attending courses and doing online courses and webinars.

I always have up-to-date paediatric first-aid training and certificates on file ,and I regularly up-date my health and safety knowledge - all in accordance with statutory requirements. My whole family is DBS checked.

As a parent myslef, and as I have had much experience over the past 21 years caring for children of all ages and abilities , I am constantly anticipating, and adapting my setting to ensure the safety and well-being of all my minded children 

Which of the following applies to your setting?
Secure environment
Wheelchair access
What communication methods are you familiar with?
PECS
Makaton
Does your service include children and young people with:
PECS
Makaton
Who can I contact for further information?

Sue Burnel 

Back to top